Fasting Encouragement

Yesterday, we fasted full water and juice all day until after our Wednesday night services. I personally totally felt more in-tune with the Holy Spirit and more boldness. We had a few challenging kids last night. One child was a two year old who was just being a perfect TERRIBLE two. He was saying “No!” to EVERYTHING. His sweet teacher last night was trying to make it enjoyable for him, but when he won’t even give it a chance, it’s frustrating. I took him out during the lesson part and tried to sit with him. While he was playing, I sat there praying for him and talking to him about church. I told him how fun it was and that I didn’t want him to miss out on it. Suddenly, he turned and looked at me and said, “This is church?” I said yes. He said, “This isn’t daycare?” I totally didn’t know he could even talk that good. I said, “No, it’s not daycare, this is church where we learn about God.” He stood up and I asked if he was ready to go back and listen and obey. He agreed and he cheerfully went into his classroom. Bizarre. Must be the Holy Spirit!

If you are getting discouraged or challenged with the fast, here’ s some encouragement. It’s straight from Fasting by Jentezen Franklin:

Every assignment, every call of God, every direction from Him starts somewhere. God has specific assignments for you life. But how do you discover them? How will you hear His voice? How wil you know His plan for your life, His plans for you? Whom should you marry? Where should you live? What job should you take? What mission field is calling your name?

The answer can be found in the appeal Paul made to the Romans: “Present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service” (Romans 12:1). Fasting is how one way you “present” your body to God as a “living” sacrifice. Fasting keeps you sensitive to His Spirit, enabling you to live holy. Paul went on to say, “And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.”

4 Comments

Filed under Bible, church

4 responses to “Fasting Encouragement

  1. I am praying for you all as you do this… so proud of you!

  2. Vasan

    Wednesday Services are awesome and the kids do seem to come in with lots more energy…..that energy is boost for me. Thanks for the encouragement.

  3. This little post has been a wonderful encouragement to me – sharing your personal experience is inspirational! The quotation from Jentezen Franklin is truly an inspiration to fast!

  4. sunny

    I just want to say thank you for this, I also had a similiar experience…after planning a fast for only 7 day’s but stopping at 12 day’s. I truely had never felt so intuned with the holy spirit as I did during that fast…so again thank you for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

