Deep Calls to Deep

While in college, I had one of those defining moments in my relationship with God. I worked at a youth camp and that summer, as I was ministering to teenagers, God worked in my heart. One of my favorite scriptures from that summer was Psalm 42. It just so happens to be the Message Daily Bible reading for today and all the memories came rushing back to me. There’s a verse that really spoke to me – from the New International Version:

Deep calls to deep
in the roar of your waterfalls;
all your waves and breakers
have swept over me.

That summer I was in East Tennessee. Every spare chance we had a group of friends and I would head to the Great Smokey Mountain National Park to an area called Big Creek. There I would sit in the middle of Big Creek on a huge rock, with small rapids breaking all around me, reading my Bible and feeling God’s great love for me. It was an incredible time that has shaped who I am. Moments like those over the course of my life have taught me what I know about God. I know that He is…

Full of great love for me

Abounding in grace and mercy

Sings over me at night

Creating a great plan for my life that is for good and not for harm

My healer of all my diseases

My sustainer in the middle of weak moments

Refining my character

Discipling me because I am His daughter

My Father Go d who sent His Son to rescue me from sin

Protecting me from shame when I look to Him

Carrying my burden and giving me an easy yoke

Equipping me for every good work that He has predetermined for my life

Lifting my head when I am feeling defeated and discouraged

Slow to anger and quick to forgive

Continually filling me with the Holy Spirit power

Anointing me to do His will

Always with me and will never leave me

Giving me sleep because He loves me

I look forward to learning much more about my Father God as I trust Him with steps outside of my comfort zone. That time in the mountains came after a time a struggle. I know that difficult times yield the most fruit. I don’t wish those times on my life, but I count it all joy when I face trials of many kinds because the testing of my faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish it’s work so that I may be complete, not lacking any good thing.

4 Comments

Filed under Bible, life

4 responses to “Deep Calls to Deep

  1. 1. I love that you came to East TN and lived to write about it.

    2. I love that you gave that fantastic list.

    3. I love you!

  2. Judy Cooney Webb

    Kristin, I just came to your blog and what a blessing I received. I cherished those moments we had at Big Creek. I remember just standing in the middle of the rushing waters and singing praise to God as the roar of the waters provided accompaniment. God gave us Big Creek as a special blessing. I remember struggling with you about what is deep calls to deep. We never did figure that out, but maybe the essence is that the depths of God is calling to the depth of who we are, to know true intimacy with the Father.

    God does use very hard times to bring us to greater release and humility. My friend, I would love to see you soon. Perhaps a road trip is in order.

    I love you.

    Judy

  3. Vasan Serca

    Thanks for sharing such an encouraging list…..in the midst of uncertainty, God is…….and will always be…….this was the lesson we impressed the children with tonight in ZOOM.
    What a fantastic night!

  4. An Imperfect Servant

    You reminded me of the times I spent with my father on the rivers in the east, canoeing with friends and camping in the Creation of God. It was always a time of fellowship and growth. I need to spend more time talking with my father and my Father. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

