Things I’ve Learned So Far as a Parent: God’s Love

I think my favorite part of this series of posts is inserting a cute pic of my little one! I just can’t get enough of him!! I mean, I see him all day long but then at night I can very often be found perusing pictures of him in iphoto. What is wrong with me? Nothing. I’m a mother.

I think God looks down on us like this. He loves us so much, He can’t get enough of us. The Bible says in Zephaniah (3:17) that He takes great delight in us; rejoices over us with singing; He quiets us with His love. I love that God has given us the family to understand more of His love.

He loves us through all our spiritual growth and development. He lovingly calls to take steps out into the unknown while trusting Him – just like Jesus calling Peter to step out onto the water – and just like babies learning to walk. Have you ever noticed that babies walk better when they keep their eyes on mom and dad? When they look down, they fall.

He even uses the parent-child relationship to describe Jesus – His only son – so we could understand the intense sacrifice He gave for us. I’ve heard people say they understood more the depth of what God did for us by sending Jesus once they themselves had a son. It’s true. It’s unimaginable what God did for us so we could come back to relationship with Him. Thank you God!

What is God teaching you through parenthood or the children in your life?

I’m learning

1 Comment

Filed under life

One response to “Things I’ve Learned So Far as a Parent: God’s Love

  1. Elizabeth

    Hey Kristin,

    I love what you said in this post. It is so true and you beautifully illustrated it. I was actually thinking about that last night as I was going to sleep. I let my little one sleep with me (one of the things I said I would never do as a mom) and I was looking at him as he slept and God’s love for me and my son were just so real in that moment as I watched him and thought about his future. It’s amazing what a son can teach you about God and how He loves us. I too am so thankful for His sacrifice! I definitely cannot imagine going through what He did for us.

Leave a Reply

